Dust in the Wind ~ Ces choses qui nous font rêver


Les-Miserables Taj_Mahal_Sunset_Edit1

In answer to the daily prompt Dust in the Wind
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/dust-wind/

I have been thinking a lot about this over the past few days, which is why I didn’t post this before. Before I tell you what I have yet to dream about, what I still want to do – and there are a few – I’ll share a couple that I did get to tick off my bucket list.

The very first time I went to a live performance I was 11 years old; I went to see Hello Dolly starring Nicole Croisille at the Théâtre du Châtelet. It was in 1992; I fell in love with musical theatre that day. It was in English; I didn’t understand all that was being said but I loved everything about it. The one scene that sticks in my mind to this day is a moment where Dolly is eating while a number of characters stand in a witness box at a trial and they are all leaning towards her not moving at all while she eats and then sings. Their stillness, this capacity to not be moving at all for something that felt to me like long minutes fascinated me and then breaking out in song as if they had never stopped singing. I told my music teacher who was bringing us to the performance: “One day I’ll sing in something like that.” Forward a decade later; I moved to Montreal and the university offered a musical workshop. As soon as I saw it I registered… it was a musical written around the songs that each member of the group had chosen to sing (I sang the French version of On My Own from Les Miserables) so we all had a solo and some choreography. But then in 2011, I was part of a production of My Fair Lady by the Alexanders Singers. In the ensemble and I had the time of my life.
1. Being part of a musical: done.

In 1992 again; this was a year of dreams for me obviously. I started doing figure skating and following the sport quite intensely. I enjoyed it tremendously. That year the Winter Olympics happened in Albertville, France and the French ice dancers Isabelle and Paul Duchesnay won the silver medal behind the Klimova/Ponomarenko pair. That was really exciting and then some weeks later they showed a programme on the siblings: turned out they were from Quebec and had moved to France because the skating federation in Canada didn’t give them enough funding to proceed with their training. They showed how as children they were skating on a lake close to their house and went on to explain that in Canada in winter one could actually skate on the St-Lawrence river or on the Rideau canal in Ottawa. I have lived in Canada for a long time now, but it is only this year that I have finally gone to Ottawa and skated on the Rideau Canal to my great pleasure. I skated on the St-Lawrence river – or rather a part of it that is safely tucked away into Montreal’s Vieux Port – throughout my time in Montreal and loved every single minute of it.
2. Skating on an actual body of water : check.

There are a number of things that I dream of doing; mostly places to visit to be honest.

I’m entirely fascinated by old mythologies and ancient cultures so my top 3 should be no surprise

1. I want to visit Egypt and ship down the Nile to see the old places
2. Still haven’t been to Greece. Hard to decide whether it’s #1 or #2.
3. Definitely going to visit India and the Taj Mahal.
4. I would also love to go to New Zealand and indulge my Lord of the Rings geekyness.  Read the books way too many times to count anymore and though I find the movies lacking in some ways, there’s no denying that Middle Earth has come to life so visiting would be amazing.
5. Visiting Namibia; I’ve seen some pictures and it just looks absolutely stunning. Definitely a place to see.

As I said, mostly places to see… Otherwise…

6. Sing on a Broadway stage; even if the hall is empty I’d love that
7. Have a book of short stories or a novel published.

I guess I have been lucky enough that a lot of the things I wanted to do, I have done. I’m sure that some time down the road, this will look insufficient but right now these are the things that make me dream 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. browney237 says:

    I loved this post!
    Filled with great dreams. I hope you are able to look back at some point and see them ticked off but at the same time have a new new set you wish to fulfill.

    http://www.browney237.com

    Like

Please, share your words

