Do Not Disturb ~ Online Living


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt Do Not Disturb:
How do you manage your online privacy? Are there certain things you won’t post in certain places? Information you’ll never share online? Or do you assume information about you is accessible anyway?

I am very much aware that these days it’s extremely complicated to keep one’s privacy. Whatever website you go on, whatever photo or comment you like on Facebook. Hell even your emails are being peered over and analyzed from a business/marketing perspective. And I have no issues believing that anyone intent on knowing can pinpoint my cellphone.
We live in a world where privacy becomes ever elusive. I won’t throw it in the wind. This place is first and foremost a space for me to share stories: not about me although sometimes I do, but about characters I have crossed path with in my ever imaginative mind.

Privacy is elusive and it’s become something that people understand differently. Reality TV has changed our understanding of the concept. So have cellphones and social media. People have no qualms having a conversation in the bus regardless of the number of people who can hear what they are saying. Which to me is annoying to be fair.
That said, I don’t know if it’s a good thing or a bad thing but a lot of elements in life that used to belong to the private life no longer do. They even become social/political issues: religion, sexuality, health.

I don’t know what prompted the change, I’m not sure but I know that a decade and a half ago shows like Big Brother were few and far between and reality million dollar making stars were even rarer. I mean my understanding is that the first were BFF Paris Hilton and Nicole Ritchie. But then again I might be completely out of it. Yet today everything has its own reality show and people have no problem being filmed throughout their days without any regards to anything that they might want to keep for themselves. I know there’ve been talk shows for decades and I have never understood how people could go on TV and air their grievances against their husband/wife/parents/children in front of the entire world.
We live in a society of voyeurism where everything can and will be looked at even if it’s uninteresting. Who cares if this person likes their car so much that they don’t spend time with their partner? Why is it even on TV? Aren’t there more interesting shows to be written? More important stories to be shared?

We grieve the end of good journalism – I know I do – and we wonder? People’s attention span is dropping by the minute and we crave sensationalism instead of good investigative work. We are happy to watch pointless shows that give us nothing: they don’t help us question our society – well that is beyond the stupidity of it – they don’t raise social points. They don’t invite a debate at all. Reminds me of Rome – Pane et panem…
Not to say voyeurism didn’t exist before or that there aren’t any good shows out there. Far be it from me. And after all, the entire city would come on the Place de greve to see someone put to the gallows or being beheaded. But it was a show to control the crowd. It’s the same today.

So yes, privacy is something I prize even though I’m posting some stuff about my life here. Because I sincerely believe in the concept of ‘to live happy, live hidden’ and also because I don’t think every bit of information is meant to be shared. Some I want to keep for myself; some I haven’t shared with anyone ever – it’s a secret trusted with me by a friend or a secret that I will bring to the grave – some I don’t think anyone but the people concerned should hear about. Essentially I do believe there are things that are none of anybody’s business but mine. So yes, some information I will never share online or offline. Period.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I like your comment about the death of investigative journalism, that is sad.

    Like

    1. MyLovingWife says:

      It’s sad but unfortunately I believe it’s true 😦

      Like

Please, share your words

