Flash Fiction Month July 13 2015 ~ He Loves Me… Not?


In response to DeviantArt Flash Fiction Month July 13 prompt

He loves me, he loves me not… loves me, loves me not.
Mindlessly she continued her task, as the relentless words kept coming in her mind every time her scissors cut.
‘Snap’. He loves me. ‘Snap’ He loves me not. On and on it went. She wasn’t even looking at what she was doing.
Her job was so repetitive. She could spend days dreaming about her boss. He regularly congratulated her on her job in the most agreeable terms. So what if he was married?
‘Snap’. He loves me. ‘Snap’. He loves me…
“WHAT THE HELL!”
She snapped out of her ennui and froze, as the man, the god really, she dreamed of spoke to her.
“What have you done?”
“I cut.”
“ARE YOU BLIND?” Well… “Did you pay the slightest attention to what you were doing?”
Not really, but she wasn’t going to tell him that in her boredom she’d been dreaming of him.
“You’ve cut twice as much as you were supposed to.” He placed some threads in her hands. They almost vibrated. Oops.
“Well, I’m a few days ahead…” She attempted with a cute – at least she hoped it was cute – smile.
“Are you kidding? You’ve cut the thread of people who should have lived for another decade. We’re overcrowded Charon can’t deal with it. You’re lucky I can’t fire you Atropos! But damn it! Stop daydreaming. You two! Pay attention to what she’s doing for Zeus’ sake.”
And he stormed out of the room. Even in anger… she loved him. Did he love her?

©scolpron2015

258words

Please, share your words

