Bohemian Rhapsody ~ Prophecy


In response to DeviantArt Flash Fiction Month July 24
The first notes of Bohemian Rhapsody floated gently down the corridor, but I ignored it and went back to my Ancient Mayan texts.

ok so I’m cheating a little because the HP Lovecraft inspired prompt is a lot harder than I anticipated (I knew it wouldn’t come to me easy). It’s way darker than anything I’m used to writing.

That night I decided to finish translating those two documents my thesis professor gave me. He said it was going to be a crucial addition to my work. He’d brought it back from the Guatemala archives where he’d spent the past month and explained that he found them completely by chance. It could however be the final part of what I was looking for. I was so excited that I couldn’t wait to start. Except that it turned out to be nothing like I anticipated.

The first notes of Bohemian Rhapsody floated gently down the corridor, but I ignored it and went back to my Ancient Mayan texts. There weren’t that many pages, maybe five or something. Two texts; two prophecies apparently. But I had to believe my translation was wrong. It couldn’t mean what I thought it did. For sure it lent some credibility to what I had been working on, but it was downright scary. Queen’s mother shooting a guy was nothing compared to what these pages forewarned. I took a breath and realized that all sounds were gone. That wasn’t normal. Music should be blasting at this time of night; I should be going out to tell the others to turn the volume down.

I stood from my desk. I needed a break anyway. Only when I turned I screamed. At least I tried to. The creature in front of me was right out of the books I had been reading for two years. But his hands were on my face and he was breathing in from my open mouth. I chocked. I knew what that meant and there was nothing I could do against it. He cocked his head and spoke some words. I knew what they meant. “The offered sacrifice.” Which meant that my professor knew about this. He’d made a bargain. And now I had become the first step for Yum Kimil to take over the world. Or rather the second; the offered sacrifice.

Seems I would have the same fate as the man of the first few notes of Bohemian Rhapsody. But at least it would be nothing compared to the fate of the others.

@scolpron2015

362 words

And just because I can’t not link it 😀

Please, share your words

