Update Your Readers Over a Cup of Coffee ~ Writing on Stones


In response to Writing 101 Update your readers over a cup of coffee.
No matter what type of blog you have, it’s sometimes necessary to post updates: from project news to personal messages about what’s going on in your life. One creative approach to an update post is a “virtual coffee date,” as seen on Kate Goes Global, which is like catching up with an old friend over a cup of coffee.

In her post, Kate begins each paragraph with If we were having coffee right now… and then adds a detail. You can share any details you’d like and include as many as you want, as long as you begin each with If we were having coffee right now… (or a variation of this phrase, as seen on Girl with the Red Hair).

It’s a simple idea, but offers a bit more structure to your post — and is a lot more fun. So today, write an update post in the form of a virtual coffee date.

If this post isn’t fitting for your blog, or just not your style, here’s your alternative: use a coffee shop as your inspiration.

Set your poem or short story in a cafe.
Go to your neighborhood spot with your laptop or notebook and free-write for 20 minutes, prompted by what you observe.
Love or hate coffee? Tell us why.
Cheers,
Cheri and the WordPress.com Team

When Isetemkheb asked Ahmose for a drink, she knew she was tempting fate. He was rarely available and she was seldom free to leave the temple. But he said yes and here they were. A few novices had come with her as the protocol required. Amhose had grown powerful and respected among the scribe. She remembered the young student he was. She had barely been inducted as a priestess and she’d seen him a few times and she had enjoyed their talks. They hadn’t had the chance to talk in a long while.

He ordered the wine as was expected and he bowed when he came in. He was as excited now as he was when he was accepted in the school. He loved what he was doing and it was endearing to listen to his latest work, copying a treaty of mathematics and philosophy from the time of Nimaatre.

“You were always meant for greatness Ahmose,” she replied with a smile. For whatever reason he laughed.
“My master might not have agreed with you wholeheartedly.”
“Why?”

He related to her how during his second year working on stone, he and his fellow students were requested to copy a eulogy for the pharaoh’s father that would go in his tomb. He’d copied everything to perfection; everything looked exactly as it should. He had worked on it for two weeks and he was still the first to complete the work. It was a masterpiece and it would grant him a place in the guild at least at journeyman level. And then as he placed the final dots, his master smacked him on the head so hard, it seemed his brain moved.
“You’ve wasted a perfectly good stone you imbecile! May Tot rot your brain!” He imitated so perfectly Master Shepseskaf that she laughed.
“What did you do?” She asked between hiccups of laughter.
He shrugged sheepishly.
“On the very last line I misspelled Amhenotep. I drew the duck of Amhenophis instead of the swan of our pharaoh’s father.”
“You didn’t!”
“I did. And I was so proud.”
“My father must have been livid.”
“Oh he was. And then when I said I would correct it…” She gasped.
“You dared?” Ahmose’s look was priceless.
“I did. And he had me work on papyrus for 2 months before he let me work on stone again.”
“You are lucky. When I made my first mistake on stone, I was humble about it but it took a year before he allowed me to again.”
“You have to understand. I really thought it could actually go into the tomb. But instead it was Harsiese’s work that was selected to be presented to our lord. And it was mediocre compared to mine.”

She laughed. Amhose had always wanted to be a scribe. This failure must have been shameful to him. And yet he obviously took heart and learned from it to become even better.
“What if someone had noticed the mistake or worse the correction? You can’t have our descendants see such a beautiful thing and notice the mistake. Of course my father was upset.”

~~~

“And that’s the story you came up with this week?” Felicia asked her as she stirred her coffee. “Where did you get that idea from?”
“I was at the Louvre last week and I went to the Egyptian section; hadn’t been there in a while. As I watched the stones, I had a thought. What would happen if the scribe made a mistake at the end of the stone and had to start over. Would they put a misspelled stone in one of pharaoh’s castle or tomb? It made me laugh all by myself in the room.”
“You’re weird. I can’t believe where you’re getting your ideas from. Will it be part of a bigger story?”
“I don’t know. It’s not even as funny as I wanted it to be. But I’ve never been too good at humour.”
“It’s a first draft?”
“Yes.”
“So it can always be improved. Like everything.”
“I’ll drink to that.”
Melanie raised her tea and drank from it as Felicia took a sip from her coffee cup.

©scolpron2015

2 Comments Add yours

  1. honestme363 says:

    That was a pretty great story, made me smile, and I really enjoyed the dialogue, it played out nicely.

    Like

    1. MyLovingWife says:

      Thank you so much. I loathe or fear – I’m never quite sure – dialog. I find it really difficult. It’s such a relief to know it worked. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Please, share your words

