I Can’t Stay Mad at You ~ Forgetful or…?


In response to the Daily Prompt I Can’t Stay Mad at You.
Do you hold grudges or do you believe in forgive and forget?

“Are you kidding me, Philip? It’s the third time. I’ve had it. I’m going to my parents.”
She couldn’t even bring herself to yell. Her suitcase sat beside her, and she had her car keys in her hands.
“But it’s not my fault honey. I just… I just can’t help myself.”
He never could help himself; that’s what he’d said the first time he cheated on her. Only this time she had photos; quite shocking photos of Philip not with one but with two girls. Well not girls, two gorgeous women she couldn’t compare with. Whoever had sent them to her was cruel maybe but at least it decided her. It was time to break things off with Philip.

She shook her head.
“Look I know you’ve always been popular with the girls. In fact, I’ve always wondered what you found in me. But obviously whatever it was, it’s no longer enough. I forgive you for that. But I can’t go on. Let’s part ways.”
“Did you tell your mom?”
“Of course not!”
He sighed. Was it relief? No. When he looked at her, his gaze was filled with sorrow.
“But I don’t want you to leave. You’re the best thing that’s ever happened to me. These girls they don’t mean anything.” He paused before his tone changed, as if he wanted to seduce her. He always spoke in that tone in the bedroom. “You’re my angel, Dawn.”

She smiled. She loved it when he called her angel. It made her feel all fuzzy and warm. Nothing ever was as important as Philip calling her angel. But he’d cheated.
“Because I cook and clean and take care of you.”
“Because you’re so good to me. Because you’re my perfect little girl…friend.”
She was. She was his perfect girlfriend. And he was her perfect boyfriend. Was he not? Why was she mad again? She could never stay mad at Philip. She loved him so much. She loved to make him happy. He must not have done anything wrong; she was just being insecure again. She was like that sometimes. Something fell beside her but she didn’t look because he spoke again.
“Come and kiss me baby. Show me how much you’re my angel.”

She walked to him and wrapped her arms around his neck. His lips upon hers felt so very very good. He caressed her and made some soothing sounds that made her feel all tingly and secure and loved. After a while, he spoke again.
“Honey, why don’t you bring the suitcase back up? Don’t worry about emptying it, I’ll do it later.”
“Sure.”
He nuzzled her neck.
“Why not cancel the weekend at your parents? This weekend should be all about you and me. It’s our anniversary after all.”
“Yes Philip. I’ll call mom.”
She picked up the keys wondering why they were on the floor for just an instant. It wasn’t really important. What was important was that Philip would spend the all weekend with her. It didn’t happen that often. She left the car keys on the table before bringing the suitcase back in their room.

©scolpron2015

Please, share your words

