Title ~ Uninspiring


In response to Linda G Hill’s stream of consciousness prompt Title

The title of book was somewhat uninspiring; the life and lies of Sarah Beckett. She wasn’t sure about the choice. The back cover might yield some more interesting results. And yet, should she bother? Oh well. Might as well. She’d read a few books with titles that weren’t particularly revealing or even interesting. Apparently. They hid the treasure trove inside pretty well. A quick look at the summary would tell her and anyone else whether it was worth it.
“Sarah Beckett’s life is a sham; it’s layered with lies from her title of baroness of an obscure place in Ireland, to the place of her birth. Some of the lies, she built. Others she’s not aware of. And then one day comes a man who would untangle that web of falsehood. Is he a danger or salvation? Sarah will have to decide what she wants to do. She’ll have to take a hard look at what has led her where she is and where she could go.”

This could lead to a disaster. If the writing was decent enough and the character building solid, this could be a hit, a best seller. If it wasn’t… well title and author would go down the path of oblivion never to see the light of day again. That would be uninspiring and depressing.
Was it a wonder Greta was terrified? It wasn’t her name on the cover. Of course it wasn’t. Nobody in their right mind would buy a book from Greta Jones. But from her alter ego, Siobhan McCaul, people might.

She couldn’t believe that a publishing house had liked her book enough to actually print it: with her original title to boot. She’d thought that it would be the first thing to go. But it didn’t. She still found it uninspiring. It had been the title of her first draft. And they’d left it untouched, unlike the content of the book that had gone through three rounds of editing. She could only hope that it would be enough.
“Will you buy that book Miss? It’s going fast. I only have two left on the shelves.”
“With a title like that?” She asked somewhat bemused.
“I’ve read it the day it came out. And OMG, I hope the author graces us with another title soon. That woman can write. I can’t believe it’s her first book. Totally inspiring. I wish I could write half as well. I hope she’ll do some signing here. That story’s amazing. And who would expect a twist like that? I didn’t see it coming and even knowing it was coming on my second time, I still found her foreshadowing was subtle enough that it was surprising. She’s got a best-seller in the making I’m telling you.”

She blushed. But didn’t say a word. Would she be caught in a web of lies like her character? Using an alias hadn’t seemed a bad idea at the time. But maybe it could prove to be. She’d have to choose. Maybe on her next book.

©scolpron2016

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ceyeh96 says:

    I had to read this twice to understand it. I think it was the first sentence that threw me off a little bit. But after reading it again, I found your story amusing and something that I think every publisher writer would be able to relate to-not being recognised in the book store while someone’s talking to you about the book. It’s a bit sad, but I kind of also want that to happen to me one day. I think it’ll be funny. One thing: please next time state what the prompt is, don’t keep it a mystery because now I have to click the link.

    Like

    1. MyLovingWife says:

      The prompt was in the post, no? It’s usually in quotes. It was a stream of consciousness on the word “title”. Besides I actually did do it wrong since my SOCS had nothing to do with movies 😛 .
      Thank you for reading and commenting 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ceyeh96 says:

        Yes, sorry. I found out about everything only after I clicked on the link. haha…I just finished doing the prompt actually. lol. I think it’s okay that your SoCS had nothing to do with movies because it’s just a prompt and you can interpret it anyway you’d like.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. MyLovingWife says:

          I usually do… It’s always fun to see where my imagination takes me.

          Liked by 1 person

Please, share your words

