Love Nudges ~ Obsession


In response to Lynn’s challenge to answer Love Nudges. Today’s prompt is Obsession
The rule:
Your writing can take any form – poem (tanka, haiku, ode, blank verse, limeric – whatever you fancy, knock your poetic socks off): prose (up to three sentences), song lyric, ditty, advertising blurb … Really, whatever you fancy as long as it’s short-ish.

You don’t understand: I can’t get her out of my head. No I’m not hungry, except for the taste of her lips that I might know what sweet nectar the gods feast upon. I dream of her in my arms every night: do you think she even knows I exist?

©scolpron2016

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this!
    Just to let you know though… I suspect a typo here? “do you she even knows I exist?”
    x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. MyLovingWife says:

      Indeed there was; thank you. And thank you for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynn Love says:

    Oh, dear. This isn’t going to end well. Poor narrator -it’s like a disease, isn’t it? Or mental illness at least. Do you think she has noticed him, or if he’s invisible to her?
    A great entry – thanks so much for taking part.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. MyLovingWife says:

      I don’t know to be honest. But that’s the thing about obsession. Not knowing 😉 . It could end up being a disaster though…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lynn Love says:

        True. You don’t think clearly when you’re under obsession’s spell, that’s the problem. Who knows where that kind of mental disturbance could lead …

        Liked by 1 person

        1. MyLovingWife says:

          I’ve been working on a story (novella I think, somewhere around 50k words) looking at that specifically. It’s turning out nastier than I thought. Main character won’t finish the journey unscathed.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Lynn Love says:

          Brilliant! Novella’s are increasing in popularity again, it seems, as people lose their ability to long works – so they so, though the success of Game of Thrones would suggest otherwise.
          Are you planning to self publish or to go the traditional route? How far into the project are you? Sounds like your protagonist has hijacked your story – they can do that, can’t they? Hope it goes well and best of luck with it.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. MyLovingWife says:

          Protagonists tend to hijack their stories no matter what I originally plan 😜. But I learned some time ago that going against them tends to kill the story. Had to drop two that I really was excited about because of it. Might start again when I come to term with the fact that it isn’t going to end as I envisioned (or decided 😜).

          Liked by 1 person

        4. Lynn Love says:

          Which ever way, I hope it goes brilliantly for you. Best of luck with it.

          Liked by 1 person

Please, share your words

