Ex/Paint ~ Exaction


“And what did you expect? Gratitude? That I kiss your feet?”
She was furious, beside herself. How could Francis do this to her? To them?
“But they signed the contract. It’s good.”
And that should exonerate him of the act of betrayal? Of stupidity really? She sighed. Took a deep breath. Like her exercises required. Patience.
“At what cost Francis? Did you look at the small print? No? Of course you didn’t. Let me paint the picture for you. The contract excludes us from claiming royalties on the sales of the by-products. The by-products are what turn this from a good investment to a million $ yearly return. You’ve sold us out. Now you see?”

He looked so pathetic as he realized his mistake.
“I’m sorry. I didn’t know.”
“I know that. Why do you think I told you not to go without me? But no, you had to prove you’re the man, you’re the boss.”
“Is there anything we can do?”
She let him sweat it a little. After all, he was an idiot. She should have known to dump him from the company project when they separated. Make him an ex-husband and ex-partner. She loved him but God was he an impediment to any business.

“There’s something I can do. But if I do it, we do this my way. And you sign all your shares of the company to me. We’ll draft a contract that gives you money off the sales we’ll make in the next 10 years. I’m not screwing with you. But you sign now and we’ll execute the contract right away.”
“Why?”
“Francis, I love you. You’re the father of our daughter and we had 10 good years of marriage. But you don’t have a business mind. We need to part ways in this too.”
“A business divorce?”
“If you will. Except that instead of sharing everything equally, I take it all and give you back the crumbs.”
He laughed. He had kept his sense of humor. That’s why their marriage lasted this long. They could always make each other laugh.
“Ok. What are you going to do?”
“Well since you signed the contract without me it’s null and void. I hold 51% of the company darling. You don’t have the right to make an executive decision without me.”

He sighed.
“You’re the man Heather.”
“I always was.”
He laughed again. He knew she was right. She’d always been exactly that.

©scolpron2016

In response to Linda G Hill’s stream of consciousness prompt Ex and to the Daily Post writing prompt Paint

The thing about vacations is that I live without a watch and without an agenda. So I’m a day late to submit my stream of consciousness Saturday. I hadn’t realized that yesterday was Saturday 😛

One Comment Add yours

  1. AprilEsutton says:

    I really like this couple. I’m so glad the didn’t lose out because of ignorance. Now he can go home and be a house husband, of blogger or something.

    Liked by 1 person

Please, share your words

