The Sun ~ Healing Voice


sun

She looked up at him and smiled; it was as if the sun shone in his face. The orange gold dress she was wearing did help a little, but mostly it was the glow on her features. It had almost taken a year to get her here. She truly seemed happy; he’d known from the first time she belonged here. He’d heard it in the way her hands caressed the piano keys; felt it in the desperate need in her voice.

His voice had brought her back; so she’d said time and again. His was a healing voice. She’d said it so many times he started to believe it. And he was kind: another thing she’d repeated time and again. At first he’d thought it was a bad thing; girls didn’t like guys like him. They dated the guy who sported a 6 pack, who could drive them to school. He was neither one. But then he realized that for her, it meant the world.

For her, he’d parted the clouds; he’d been the sun. His voice had torn the veil of darkness that suffocated her life. His kindness had provided the warmth she needed to revive her soul, invigorate her desire for life.

And now she was here; about to take centre stage where the rest of the choir stood. They started humming in harmony. He stepped on in front of the audience and started singing; the first verse was his. She’d asked not to start. The song though could have been hers entirely. It might have been written for her.
“Where has the starlight gone?
Dark is the day
How can I find my way home?”

Home was here on stage; he smiled when she joined him for the second verse. She took his hand, as she started.
“When will the dawning break
Oh endless night
Sleepless I dream of the day…”

Together they harmonized; he might have laughed when she abandoned the main line to harmonize over him, even though they hadn’t practiced it this way. She was a genius when it came to music. She soared when she sang, and she brought them with her, sharing the light of her own sun with everyone.

“I know that the night will end, and that the sun will rise…”
He cast a quick glance in the audience: they were riveted. Many people had tears in their eyes. He found that he too was overwhelmed. But he sang through, accompanying her. When they finished, the entire hall stood. It was as if thunder entered the place. People were clapping their hands, stomping their feet.

Her hand went to her mouth, as if she couldn’t believe it. She looked at him, a laugh playing in her eyes, over her lips – he could tell. He took her hand and made her take a bow with him. They stepped in with the rest of the group, leaving their mic to Jen and James led them into the next song.

They won the competition but it meant nothing… nothing compared to her smile, to her joy. To the fact that she was here. She was about to leave with her parents; her father held the door open. She looked back and walked back to him.
“Thank you.” She whispered. “And I’m sorry for what I’m about to do.”
She took his face between her hands, stood on tiptoes and pressed her lips to his. Gently. And yet it was like fireworks. The sun was smiling, the stars were dancing. His heart beat in a giddy whirl. It was over before he even thought about kissing her back. She’d kissed him. She’d actually kissed him. When he opened his eyes – he’d closed his eyes? Why had he closed his eyes? – she was smiling.
“Why?” He asked. He didn’t know what he was asking: why was she sorry? Why had she kissed him? Why did she surprise him like that again? Why did he not see it coming? Why did he feel it could hurt?
“They won’t leave it alone, will they?”
He turned around. Jen looked as if she’d known all along this would happen. James looked totally thrilled and the others’ faces showed anything from shock to jealousy. But not one of them knew – well except Jen – what Amy’d lived through. They wouldn’t understand. He smiled.
“They probably won’t.”
“Do you mind?”
“No.”
“Good.”

She walked away; her father was smiling. Danny imagined he wasn’t the kind of guy Mr. May would think his daughter would date but he didn’t appear to mind. He nodded to him, then sat at the wheel and drove away. Danny was over the moon.

©scolpron2016

In response to Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Tarot prompt The Sun

10 Comments Add yours

  1. What can I saw but stunning.
    Your descriptions of the singing, the characters are excellent.
    Sorry, I missed the ending — as much my reading I’m sure as your writing which I do so enjoy.

    Like

    1. I’m missing something but I’m so very tired. Thank you very much: it’s always hard to describe singing. I know what it feels like but I never quite feel I have succeeded in translating it wit words.

      Like

  2. It’s my wording — I thought the whole story was excellent, I was just confused if the boy got the girl in the end. That’s all. Get some rest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know… maybe. She seems willing 😉

      Like

  3. Michael says:

    This was so good Stephanie, I love the lyrical nature of your writing, you drew me in and created such a moment I felt I was present.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much 🙏🏻

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oloriel says:

    I really loved this story, especially since you presented me with something I don’t get to read about a lot, and that is singing and performing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Well I do take a lot of pleasure in singing (though I haven’t performed in a while). It’s always a delight… I hope I managed to translate that at least 😉 .

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oloriel says:

        You did! When watching it on TV, which is where I usually get a chance to encounter it, it often feels so fake to me, like it is staged (because it is a performance and a competition after all.), whilst in your writing and story I got a chance to experience it emotionally.

        Liked by 1 person

Please, share your words

