Harry Potter and the Cursed Child ~ J.K. Rowling


My husband who knows I’m a geek ordered Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in order to obtain it on the day it was released in France, which was some time last week. I got the book and read it the very same day; finished it in a couple of hours too.

To summarize, Harry and Ginny’s son Albus Severus Potter ends up in Slytherin and best friend with Scorpio Malefoy. Tired of only every being Harry Potter’s son, Albus Severus tries to change the past in order to set to rights Cedric Diggory’s death. Turns out: it’s not a good idea messing up with time, something his aunt Hermione probably could have told him.

So essentially we have two main issues in the book: how do you live your life independently of your parents’ (family’s)? Albus Severus is plagued with living a life as Harry Potter’s son and Scorpio Malefoy’s as being a Death-Eater’s son. It’s also a question of nature vs nurture I guess to a certain point. The other one is obviously the butterfly effect and how a change in one thing can have a major impact on everything else. Along the road we get a big look at “hell is paved with good intention.”

I guess my main problem with the story is its premise: Lord Voldemort is rumoured to have fathered a child.
Hello? We’re talking of Voldemort.The guy who can’t love, the guy who can’t even bring himself to respect the people who serve him. So yes, the entire foundation of the story is just not working for me.
I also find it so hard to believe that Albus would be in Slytherin when Harry specifically told him that if he didn’t want to be in Slytherin he could avoid going there. Of course meeting Scorpio might have had an impact but over one day in the train? I’m finding it hard to believe.
I’m also having a hard time with Slytherin being still the black sheep. One would think that after the battle of Hogwarts things might have changed.

The pace is great, and it must have made for a fantastic play although I’m having a difficult time envisioning a certain number of scenes being staged. Then again I’m no director.
It was enjoyable and I probably read it way too fast to identify all the little details as I might have in an actual book.

I guess I didn’t enjoy it as much as the others because I couldn’t believe in Voldemort having a child. There was a huge theory way back when that Harry and Hermione were brother and sister (kind of like Star Wars) and I never adhered to that theory. Same here: I couldn’t see it. Besides, it made the plot almost too easy to figure out.

It’s an easy read and it’s – all in all – fun. Sure take a look but don’t expect the mind-blowing experience of the first 4 😉 .

Have you read the book yet? What did you think?

Please, share your words

