Unprepared


She crossed the room along the wall, hoping nobody would notice her. She almost snorted: she knew she’d pass unseen. She might have been part of the wall. It served. She reached the doors and exited onto the terrace. The chill of the night settled down quickly. It was a relief after the heat of the party. Still, danger lurked outside too. Another type.

“Heather?”
She startled and curtsied.
“My Lord.”
He took her hand, kissed her knuckles. She blushed.
“Don’t call me ‘my Lord’ Heather. It’s wrong.”
“What else should I call you?”

They couldn’t love each other; her duty was to her family, his to the Earldom. Their lives were too different to entwine their destinies. She knew it; still she loved him.
“I noticed you didn’t speak to the young ladies. They could be your friends you know.”
“Who needs friends?”
She whispered, looking away from him to the gardens.
“Why so bitter my dear?”

Tears welled in her eyes unbidden. He didn’t understand. He was the golden child of a rich titled family. She was the cursed daughter of a ruined man. He shouldn’t want to associate with her. Gently he forced her to look at him.
“I know it’s difficult for you Heather. But it’d be good. For you, your family if you…”
“I can’t. You know how it is.”
“Do I?”

He leaned in, kissed her lips. She let him. She shouldn’t. She’d be unable to help restore her family’s reputation. And… She moved but William was faster. He pushed her behind him, his weapon out before she reacted. The creature appeared from the shadows: her fight, her duty. Instead William stepped ahead to meet it. He stood no chance. Before he met it, she threw the wooden stake she’d hid in her deep pocket. It sunk into the creature’s heart. Unseen, it fell with a thud. He turned, shocked.
“It was you. Your father…?”

She nodded defeated. She murmured.
“I’ll leave you alone my Lord.”
He closed the gap between them, held her tight.
“I love you Heather. This changes nothing. Marry me.”

©scolpron2017

In response to the Daily Post writing prompt Unseen and to the Deviant Art Wheel of Fortune challenge, which yielded the following results
Word count: 350 words
Genre: romance
Character: a wallflower
Material: a wooden stake
Sentence to use: “who needs friends?”

4 Comments Add yours

  1. surlyandcurly says:

    Great incorporation of the target phrases. I’d like to see this continued. Were you planning on doing so? Either way, thanks for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if I will. I thought of it as a one shot but weirder things have been known to happen. 😉
      Thank you for the comment 🙏🏻

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oloriel says:

    Oh, I love how the story played out! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Please, share your words

