The War Inside of Us


The idea that within man occurs a struggle between good and evil is as old as religion. The protagonists of this war have many names: hybris and logos, angels and demons… It is up to man to decide which path he chooses. Or so we’d like to believe.

But the truth is that the issue of the conflict being waged within us isn’t ours to decide. Our body is merely the battleground, our soul the prize of the victor. It’s my curse but I see them; they’re not exactly angels and demons but creatures of light and darkness. They don’t have wings or horns but neither can they stand on a man’s shoulder. They’re not physical beings, they seem like shadows. But let’s call them angels and demons to make things simple. The bottom line is their constant fighting leaves mark upon the body and soul of their bearer.

Demons tend to leave physical traces of its actions. A man or woman thinks he or she’s doing things of their own volition – hurting themselves in a moment of great distress for example. But they’re not. It’s merely a cut administered by the darkness, as it tried to destroy the light.

On the other hand, angels soothe; they steers the soul back to their light so that the darkness might not have a durable impact. For the strength of darkness has grown and its power over human mind has increased. It corrupts and hurts, while the light struggles to leave any physical trace of its presence.

For some the fight becomes unbearable; the constant battle within drives them to madness, others give up to the darkness or to the light. And for those of us who see, well… they tend to consider us crazy. That’s why we keep the knowledge to ourselves; the most daring of us write stories and publish them. I’m not one of those. There’s nothing entertaining in that war within us.

Still the demon and angel fighting inside of me realized that I can actually see them and so they avoid outright battle. Because the last time they did, I sort of misdirected their move and they ended up hurting themselves instead of me. They’ve changed tactics: they talk to me now, trying to convince me to do this or that.

I guess I’m one of the few people who has a measure of freewill; whether it’s a curse or a blessing I don’t know. I never seem to know what to choose: or maybe I’m going crazy too.

©scolpron2017

In response to Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie writing prompt #209 It’s All in the Title by Mindlovemisery

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Michael says:

    I liked where you took me in this. I think understanding you have freewill is a start and I wouldn’t think you are going crazy I think having to choose and knowing which way to go is what they call living.
    Hope you are doing well….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am doing great even if baby woke me up at 5am this morning 😜.
      I must admit I knew where I started with this one but wasn’t entirely sure of the outcome. I don’t know if the narrator tries to exempt him/herself from choices because of the fear of living or if he/she’s coming to understanding that they have no choice but to choose…

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Michael says:

        Hate to be the bearer of bad tidings but the 5am start you better get used to to…lol…then as well there’s the midnight, 2am and so forth…..good luck with everything anyway Stephanie…

        Liked by 1 person

        1. But at least I’ll be on maternity leave so I can nap in the afternoon 😜

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Michael says:

          Yeah well good luck with that. You and your perfect baby eh? I’ll look forward to maternity leave updates.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. I’m an optimist at heart what can I say? Maybe baby will be as good as my nieces: I can only hope

          Liked by 1 person

        4. Michael says:

          Well I wish you well. If you have family with babies then they will be a help.

          Liked by 1 person

Please, share your words

