Winnie the Pooh ~ A. A. Milne


I’m a little late in posting my review today: just because I had to retype it. I wrote it on my computer and forgot to paste it on my wordpress to schedule for this morning. That’s how much of a airhead I can be.

A bit like the main character of the book I’m reviewing. Winnie is referred to as a bear with no brain. Winnie the Pooh by Milne is obviously a set of stories told and written for his boy. A bit like The Hobbit for Tolkien, the main difference being that the characters in Winnie the Pooh are plush toys really. I’d never realized that until I read the book if you would believe it.

So Winnie the Pooh follows the adventures of Winnie and his friends in the forest. What the forest is we don’t really know… is it Jean Christopher’s bedroom, but then how does it get flooded? Is it a forest that’s as real to the plush toys as it would for real animals?

The bottomline to be honest is that I’m no longer a child and it makes it hard for me to enjoy such stories. They seem silly to me though I can imagine the sense of adventure it might create in children. I will read the stories to my kid and see if he enjoys them. But the truth is that I have trouble understanding how some children’s stories made it to the list of 100 books to read before you die. I can somehow fathom why Alice in Wonderland or The Hobbit might be there. But why is Winnie the Pooh on the list but not Peter Pan. The story and potential lessons in the latter are more significant it seems to me than in the former. So yes I’m in doubt.

It’s cute but not amazing. It didn’t transport me; then again the animated stories never did much for me, as a kid. So maybe I’m immune to the cuteness of a airhead bear who measures everything by the amount of honey he can eat during one adventure 😜.

I guess it will be fun for our child and I will introduce him to Winnie but not for my sake.

What did you think of Winnie the Pooh if you read it?

One Comment Add yours

Please, share your words

