FFM 2023 #9 – Not so small mistake


I watched as the two clones examined each other in twinned horror. And the one thing going through my mind was “oops”. I was in trouble. Only so much more than I even realized. I could hear my boss in my head calling me an imbecile and how I would be the end of the universe.

An exaggeration that, but she could be overly dramatic. It wasn’t exactly my fault that the heating system at my previous job stood right next to the weapon depot. Anyway, here I was; on the other side of the solar system for 18 cycles. No visit. One call a week to my family; not that they’d answered in the past 15 cycles or so; I was the failure of the family after all. Was it any wonder I got bored and well had a bit of a misstep? No one could blame me, right?

“What is this thing?” The combined voice of the clones interrupted. “Why does it look like me?”

Great!

“Well, you are actually one and the same. Kinda twins you know.”

“That’s impossible; I’d know if I had a twin.”

It was eerie how their words and pacing matched exactly.

“Ok fine. You’re both clones. Charged with the overseeing of this station.”

“And who are you?”

“I wake one of you up when the previous clone has fulfilled its cycle.”

“Why are they two of us?”

I stuttered. They made me feel smaller. I rarely interacted with the clones. They were too clever for me. Two of them at once? I’d regret this for so many reasons.

“So I accidentally pressed the start button twice and reanimated two of you.” They looked at each other. “That’s ok though, I guess you can share the work, do it faster and have a longer cycle than your other selves.”

“How long is a cycle?”

“Five revolutions around the main star.”

I could see them make the calculations in their head but when they looked at me again, I shuddered.

“I’ll be out of your way really. I only interact with you when you wake up and when you…”

“Die.” They said in unison. “We understand the concept of death.”

I tried to stay out of their way. Usually it wasn’t hard; the previous one never cared much about me. But those two… it seemed they kept finding me. Which one of them I never knew for sure. They asked the same questions sometimes or made the same requests and I couldn’t be sure which one I’d “helped” before. Sometimes they found me together and they spoke on each side of me, like in stereo. And when they did, it was hard to identify where their thoughts ended and where mine started.

Once one of them caught me in the shower; one thing leading to another… I had been alone for 18 cycles after all. And immortal or not, I had needs, which they fulfilled. But then, the other – was it the other really? – sought me out in my room. It seemed unfair that their “twin” got to fuck me and not them. Or was it their thoughts? I wasn’t sure. I only knew that afterward, they would find me together and when they did, there was little in my mind but desire. Whatever they whispered in my ears made no sense; it didn’t need to.

Surprisingly, my boss didn’t lose it when I told her about my mistake. But to be honest, I don’t remember when was the last time I spoke to her. Everything is a bit of a blur, except the clones. They’re everywhere it seems; in my space, in my mind. I think I made a grave mistake. I’m pretty sure they made me wake up more of them; but I can’t tell them apart. So did they? And why? It’s not like I have a chance to look for the answer though; they keep me too busy… well after a manner.

So when the red light flares in my room that night and I am curiously alone – well they do have to let me rest sometimes but usually two of them are here whispering in my ears as I sleep – I force myself out of my bed and manage to pick up. I struggle against what I realize on some level is deep conditioning. Since when has this light been flaring? I pick up, words hard to come by.

“What’s going on Fedore?” Fedore? Who is that? Ah yes. The person I used to be. My boss isn’t upset; she’s terrified.

“I… I don’t know… they…”

“They? You woke several?”

Something… someone? tries to push through the mush that Fedore’s mind has become. Who?

“Two… mistake. More now. Can’t disobey…”

A squeaking sound behind me, and a rush of something in my brain.

“Pet?” Their voice, I melt.

“Masters…”

I hear the scared voice behind in the sound system but I can’t make heads or tails of the words I hear.

“End of the universe. They’re about to destroy it all. Fedore!”

But they’re taking my hands and nothing makes sense anymore except their touch.

©️scolpron2023

856 words

An answer to Flash Fiction Month July 9 prompt “So I accidentally pressed the start button twice and reanimated two of you.” by bunnythewriter

All feedback is welcome, please share yours

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.